Camp NaNoWriMo

July is here, which means it’s a flurry of NaNo activity and writing. Except it hasn’t been for me. The first couple days of July, I went camping to celebrate my oldest son’s birthday. (There’s nothing like hiking a mountain while turning 3 years old!) Now, I’ve been trying to play catch up and plan the story.

It’s a cross between an adventure, coming of age, and young adult. Two friends drive halfway across the country to go to a funeral, but they learn things along the way. I’ve created the general itinerary, and now I need to write what happens in those cities. My goal is to finish that tonight and begin the actual writing tomorrow. 

My goal for the month is to write 30,000 words. This, along with paring down possessions and gearing up to move at the end of the month. It’s a busy time!

Leave a Reply

