In June. (Alternatively: Summer’s coming; watch out books!)

 

Pre-summer is in the air. The sun is out, and people are generally happier. At least they are here in Seattle. Usually this means people put away their books in favor for camping or beach trips or other really fun adventures, but not me. (This unintentionally makes me sound incredibly boring.) It seems like summers are when I do the most reading, and now since I have two littles and stay close to home most days anyway, I really don’t have an excuse to crack down on these reading goals I have.

First, though, I have to say that during the month of June, I am participating in WIPjoy. If you want to know more about my current WIP, a contemporary middle grade story of friendship, you can visit my Facebook page each day during June to learn more about it. (I’ll be learning more about it, too, since I’m right in the middle of working with it.)

Reading Goals.jpg

So, these reading goals: I’m still aiming for 70 books this year. With seven more months to go, I need to read six books a month. Except June, when I’ll need to read seven books. It’s exhilarating to read other people’s books while writing my own. My creativity these past couple days have been off the charts, and I love it. If you want to keep track of my reading goals and updates, check out my Goodreads profile

During the month of June, I’m heavily focused on YA titles. I finished one already, so I’m on the hunt for six more. I’ve started this one today, and I’m excited to explore the darker side of the YA genre, while still remaining firmly in the realm of realistic fiction.

 

Leave a Reply

