On being an adult

This week has been one of those weeks. You know what I’m talking about: those series of days when it seems nothing can go right, and everything that can go wrong does go wrong. Except there is nothing you can do except grin and get through it. Essentially, I’m learning what it means to be an adult, and I have two little people watching me so I need to behave. Yikes. Bad news first so I can end with the positives.

My toddler decided that it would be a great idea to flush one of those massive infant bottle caps down the toilet. I’m potty training (sort of) him, and I let him flush. Fantastic idea, by the way. Now he thinks that if anything is in the toilet, it needs to be flushed. My partner, bless his heart, watched video after video on YouTube then attempted to fix the toilet himself. It wasn’t pretty, but it got done. Except the kitchen sink is clogged now for no apparent reason. It happened the same time as the toilet. That has yet to be resolved, so we’ve been subsisting off fast food for the past few days. Oh, and I have a massive foot blister that makes it oh-so-painful to walk.

Positives?

I finally finished a book that I attempted to read multiple times. There was a reason it took me three tries to get into it – it didn’t start getting good until page 200, of 311 pages. Anyway, I forced myself to slush through it and now it’s done. Yay!

I also managed to find time to write. In the midst of all this plumbing drama, my Muse was working overtime. The short story isn’t finished yet, but it’s coming along. Can I tell you how good it feels to be writing? Because it feels great!

I’m moving onto a much anticipated book – “The Bazaar of Bad Dreams” by Stephen King. I’m sure my dreams will turn to nightmares any day now.

Finally, I called the speech language pathologist to schedule my toddler an appointment. It was about time. While I’ve worked in SLP before, I’m too close to my son to work with him in a therapy capacity. Putting away my pride and calling took a lot out of me, but it’s what’s best for my kiddo. Hopefully his speech will be on target this time next year. I’m looking forward to his speech blossoming.

 

I mention all this because I need to apologize for the last of posts the last few days. My posting schedule is all wonky right now, and I hope in the coming weeks it’ll smooth out more. Even with the best of intentions, life still happens and it’s all I can do to keep wearing a smile. Like some friends of mine say, this too shall pass.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

