Tasty Tuesday: Earl Grey & Poppy Seed Cookies

Normally, recipes will come from books, but I couldn’t pass on this one. I discovered it in a group for writers on Facebook, the NaNoWriMo group. It’s a creation by James Baldwin, and you can visit his Facebook page here.

What you will need:

  • 2 2/3 cups flour
    2 cups packed dark brown sugar
    1 tablespoon salt
    1 tablespoon lemon extract OR (heaped) finely grated lemon peel
    1 teaspoon lemon juice
    6 strong earl grey teabags or 1/4 cup loose leaf earl grey
    1 tablespoon powdered ginger
    1 1/2 tablespoons cinnamon
    Pinch of cardamom [I didn’t add any since it was well outside my budget. I’m not exactly sure what cardamom tastes like, so I didn’t miss it.]
    1 teaspoon vanilla extract
    1/2 cup poppy seeds [I added a little over a quarter cup because I bought the smaller container of poppy seeds. It was more than enough.]
    3 tablespoons molasses or golden syrup
    2 eggs
    1 1/2 cups melted butter
    1 level teaspoon baking powder

What you do:

  • Combine all dry ingredients together, including the tea leaves (which you extract from the bags and mix in DRY, no steeping) and poppy seeds. Add the lemon essence and juice, vanilla, molasses, and eggs. Chop them into the dry mix. Then, use a wooden spoon to fold in the melted butter.
  • The mix will look quite wet and should smell quite lemony. Let the batter rest overnight in the fridge so that the tea has time to release its full flavor.
  • Once chilled, spoon the mix out and roll it into delicious cookie sausages. Cut it up to form little flat patties, and bake for 12-15 min at 375 F/200 C. They should come out when they are just a little soft in the middle. Once they cool, they will be chewy. [I prefer extra chewy cookies so I cooked mine for ten minutes, and they came out great.]
cookies.jpg

The finished product! (The cookies are misshapen because I was holding my infant while cutting and flattening them. They aren’t pretty-shaped, but they are delicious!)

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Tasty Tuesday: Earl Grey & Poppy Seed Cookies

  1. I look forward to it. I need a new tea recipe to try. The last one I attempted was earl grey banana bread and it came out a little odd… might have been the gluten free flour mix I was using then.

    Like

Leave a Reply

