Revision isn’t just for manuscripts.

If there’s anything I’ve learned about writing it’s remembering to be flexible. Goals that sounded reasonable at 3am are actually ridiculous. The last thing I want is to feel so overwhelmed and discouraged because I can’t keep up. So, the best way that I know how to fix it is just to revise the entire goal itself – and that’s exactly what I did.

When I made that first goal of writing 17 scenes in  week, I realized later that there were 17 days left in the month. Instead of four scenes a day (which is, for lack of a better word, ridiculous for me to attempt), I would only be responsible for writing one scene a day or doubling up on the weekend.

Okay, already I feel like I can breathe easier, and with a working scene plan written down, I can easily dive into the day’s work without having to backtrack and figure out what to write. Four scenes to one scene. That’s all it took for me to feel optimistic.

Now the trouble is staying on track. I discovered a tool to help called Pacemaker. It’s free and accessible online. Here’s the one I created for this project. I love being able to watch my progress and see the lines of the chart increase each writing session. It motivates me to keep writing, and isn’t that the whole idea anyway? So pop on by and check on my progress as I work to finish this draft by the end of the month.

 

Keep an eye out in early January for what’s to come in the new year! There are a lot of things in the works, and I’m excited to share them all.

Leave a Reply

