Success – NaNo 2015 & beyond

8791fa4327fce90d818cefaebacd6bb1

This is the first year I feel like I can honestly say I won NaNoWriMo. It wasn’t just reaching the 50,000 word goal this year; I’ve done that before. For me it was about sticking with a project and holding out for those 50,000 words. I ended up writing a grand total of 81,546 words – the most I’ve ever written on a project. Guess what? It’s still not finished! While I wanted to finish a first draft for NaNo, I don’t feel like I’ve failed my goal. I’ve gone further than I’ve ever gone before, and, to me, that’s the most important thing. I have improved.

 

December has been difficult for me. Since I managed to write every day for 30 days, of course writing would be constantly on my mind during December. Yet, here I sit on the fifteenth, with zero words written during the month. Yikes! I’m close to the end. I can feel “The End” burning on the edge of my fingertips. I just can’t seem to get myself to open the document to write more. I decided, yesterday, that enough was enough. I needed to just sit down and figure out all this mess. And I did.

I discovered that I only have 17 scenes left in the story. (Actually, it’s 16.5 because I’m in the middle of the scene. Can you believe I ended NaNo in the middle of a scene, and I didn’t have the wherewithal to finish it? Neither can I!)

I have a goal in mind. I want to finish writing that half-scene today and write 4 scenes per day after that. My end goal is to finish the first draft on by midnight on Friday. I’m giving myself some wiggle room, though. Since I’m pregnant and exhausted after getting home, I’m extending that deadline to Sunday, which is my hard deadline. I want to print the entire manuscript on Monday and start planning WIPs for 2016 that evening.

By sitting down and figuring out where I was, I realized that I didn’t have anything to be worried about. I was closer than I thought! By writing out an action plan and creating soft and hard goals for myself, I have an end in sight. In fact, it’s so in sight that I feel that sense of urgency even stronger than I did before.

Time to get typing!

Leave a Reply

