Validation for NaNo, being a writer, and being alive.

I have an informal writing blog on Tumblr. It’s a place to keep snippets of quotes and images that I find inspiring so I can revisit them often. During NaNoWriMo, National Novel Writing Month, I update frequently to feel connected to a blogging community.

Tonight, I stayed up until midnight to validate my word count on the NaNo website. I wrote this blog post afterwards and published it on my Tumblr blog. It tells parts of my story about being a writer, the struggles I’ve gone through with feeling like a failure, and how my mental illness has contributed to my writing journey.

Day 20 validated

Spoiler alert: It has a happy ending.

 

I wanted to share the post, even though it is more informal than not, because validation is something I struggle with on a daily basis. After talking with several writers (and non-writers), I discovered it’s a universal battle. By sharing the post in several spots, it’s my hope to reach as many people to help inspire them to continue to reach for their dreams, whether that includes writing or something else.

The biggest lesson I’ve learned is that life is a journey, and sometimes all we can do is put one foot in front of the other and not give up.

Leave a Reply

